Do you stop to listen?

The greatest tool of communication is listening but i find myself listening too much, is it bad? You see, when i listen, i allow the mouthy head to spit dirt. I know you cant stand that and that is why i hit her in the chest.

My anger din’t rise but it generated out of listening. I stood there for about 20 seconds (that is so short i know) to listen to her words. I found truth in words i have just read on some guy’s T-shirt in town “i can see your lips moving but i can only hear …blah..blah…blah..on the floor…blah..blah..i cant stand..blah…”

Now, see. Another sales person is approaching me with a scratch card in her hands. ” you will get lucky, trust me” she said to me. I saw her very many colleagues around that place, Ronald Ngala to be exact, outside Posta. I ignored her for 20 seconds and during that time, surely she she said many words. In between her words, i could hear her repeating these words ‘ you will get a t-shirt if you don’t want’. I looked at her and smiled, God, she was beautiful.

Her natural hair reaching to her cheeks was blown by wind onto her face, she raised her fingers to pull it off. There, i could see her teeth! I cursed myself for smiling at her. There are many ‘dentists’ in our estate who have posted ads saying “Whiten brown teeth”, i dont know how much they charge or how painful the exercise is but i am sure i will send her there and never want to see her again.

So i stopped to wonder, why do i even need to listen, if what someone will say will make me hit ‘her’ or just don’t want to see them again. Anyway, i hate talking too much. If i listen, probably more about the speaker will be revealed. What i do after that be sure it is for my own good.

 

About Demcel

I am a professional creative writer, i flock with great thinkers!

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

